While we know that awards are only as meaningful as the work behind them, it is always nice to be recognized.

Master of the Game Award

The Master of the Game Award honors an individual who has made significant contributions to the sports industry and who exemplifies the highest level of professionalism in his or her field.

Master-of-the-Game-Award  Master-of-the-Game-Award-Ceremony  sports-law-mog-2014


2014 Master of the Game Award Recipient

The article below is from the Spring 2015 edition of Marquette Lawyer. Martin J. Greenberg was the 2014 Recipient of Marquette University Law School National Sports Law Institute “Master of the Game” Award.


We are honored to have received the following awards:
  • Alpha Sigma Nu, 1970
  • American Jurisprudence Prize in Property, 1968
  • Best Lawyers in America, 2009 to 2016
  • Focus on Diversity Excellence Award, 2007
  • Francis X. Swietlik Scholar Award, 1971
  • Jewish National Fund Service Award, 2001
  • Joseph O’Neill Award, 2001
  • Marquette University Law School – named “Student of the Year,” 1970-71
  • Marquette University Law School – National Sports Law Institute “Master of the Game” Award, 2014
  • Charles W. Mentkowski Sports Law Alumnus of the Year Award, 2007
  • Milwaukee Bar Association – named “Lawyer of the Year – Legal Scholar,” 1988
  • Milwaukee Chapter of American Jewish Committee Community Service Human Relations Award, 2008
  • Milwaukee Journal Sentinel – named “One of the Most Influential People in Sports in the State of Wisconsin”
  • Milwaukee Magazine – named to “Top Real Estate Lawyers in Milwaukee,” June 1990, February 1995 and October 1999
  • St. Francis Children’s Center Community Service Award, 2009
  • The Milwaukee Business Journal – named a “Power Couple,” 2010
  • The Milwaukee Business Journal – named to “Top 5 Power People in Sports”
  • Wisconsin Bar Foundation Donald O’Melia Local Service Award, 2009
  • Wisconsin Bar Foundation Lawyer Pro Bono Publico Award, 1978
  • Wisconsin Law Journal – named to “Leaders in the Law,” 2009
  • Woolsack Society Award, 1971
  • Martindale-Hubbell rating: 5 of 5
  • AVVO rating: 10 of 10
  • Leonard L. Loeb Award of the Senior Division of the State Bar of Wisconsin, 2017 Recipient
Here is a sample of the many awards Martin J. Greenberg has received over the past 4 decades: